Waterford Local Government Review

Welcome to the official website for the Waterford Boundary Review.

On 19th June 2015, the Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government, Mr. Alan Kelly, TD. established the Waterford Boundary Committee under section 28 of the Local Government Act 1991. The Committee is required to carry out a review of the boundary between the City and County of Waterford and County Kilkenny and to make recommendations with respect to that boundary and any consequential recommendations with respect to the area of the Metropolitan District of Waterford that it considers to be necessary in the interests of effective and convenient local government.

The following persons were appointed as members of the Committee:

  • Mr David O’Connor (Chair)
  • Mr John Martin
  • Mr Ollie Killeen

  • A formal Public Notice was published on 17th November 2015, inviting submissions with regard to the review. Submissions were to be received by 15th January 2016.

    On the 8th February 2017, the Report of the Waterford Boundary Review Committee was published and is available below.

  • Report of the Waterford Boundary Review Committee